The “Formulas fatal to the flesh” album cover project. By Mr Nizin Lopez.

The Morbid Angel

(acrylic on canvas by Mr Nizin Lopez)

I still remember it as if it was today: I was on my way to see the mighty “Morbid Angel” in the “Domination tour”. I took the Tri-rail all the way to Fort Lauderdale & then I made it to Resurrection drums to meet Dave Lombardo. After meeting him I made it to the Button South. I went to the back of the club & there I saw David Vincent & Gen approaching (at that point I didn’t even know who Gen was). I was just a teenager who didn’t speak good English so I spoke to them in the best way I could. I had made a certain painting of a woman with bat wings & I took it to the show (I used an attractive Victoria-secret model as a reference). I gave it to David Vincent right there. David & Gen were very kind & they took me backstage, there I met all the band members including Pete & Trey. Keep in mind that at that time I was still “fresh from the boat”, I had just arrived from Cuba in 1993 so, in my eyes being in the presence of these personalities was something extremelly impressive.

David told me that they wanted to use the painting for a t-shirt design, I couldn’t be happier. This painting that I took to the domination tour ended up becoming the “Angel of Disease” t-shirt (they got in touch with me later on & paid me). The show was great, one of the first songs they played was one of my all-time favorites: “Fall from grace” (one of the best Death Metal songs ever). I enjoyed the show tremendously!! The whole thing felt surreal, I still couldn’t believe that I was really seeing Morbid Angel. Keep in mind that back in Cuba we didn’t even have record stores, it was all underground trading.

A fellow named Danny Fuentes who did a Death Zine called “Horror Show” gave me a ride back to Hialeah. You see, I went to that show not even knowing how the hell I was going to get back but, a miracle happened!

A few years later I got in touch with them again because I heard rumors that they were going to release a new album. Dieter got me in touch with Trey and we exchanged ideas over the phone. Trey was very immersed into Sumerian mythology & he kind of told me what he envisioned in the cover.

scan0005

(Nizin Lopez even has a Sumerian flavor)

At first I sent him a painting that I had already done to see if he would like it. He actually wanted it for the album cover but the other band members were not so sure about it. The painting that you see here almost became the album cover for “Formulas”:

The weight.

(acrylic on canvas by Mr Nizin Lopez)

I decided to work on a new piece. After all, this was a dream come true! It took me approximately a month to complete this painting. As far as media went, I used acrylic on canvas. The painting manifested magically, it kind of felt as if my creativity was unleashed to the max… there was a gloomy surreal spark in the air. It was definitely meant to be.

I used myself as a reference. If one looks carefully at the “Formulas fatal to the flesh” cover, he will see that there is a human figure being pierced by blades of fire. That is actually me.

Morbid Angel

(it is extremelly weird that on late 2012 and on late 2013 I ended up having surgeries on my neck. Notice that one of the blades falls on my neck!!)

The whole concept behind the album is that spirit must prevail over flesh & that the world must be “cleansed” of impurities. Trey loved the painting. Everyone else liked it as well so it became the “Formulas fatal to the flesh” album cover. The painting was done in East Hialeah/Fla:

The magical apartment

I still remember to this very day when I got the cd in the mail. It was a great feeling of awe to see my artwork illustrating the music of my idols. I met Morbid Angel once again at the Button South during the “Formulas” tour (I actually got on stage) & I met them again later on in Tampa when they were doing an autograph session. Overall, working with the Morbid guys was a pleasure & an honor. I am eternally grateful for interacting with all of them. I would like to thank (in no particular order) David Vincent, Gen, Trey Azagthoth, Angela, Pete, Steve Tucker, Eric Rutan, & Dieter.

Nizin Lopez meets David Vincent at a Genitorturers show in Fort Lauderdale/Fla (The Edge):

David Vincent

Nizin Lopez meets Morbid Angel in Tampa at an autograph session:

Morbid Angel

Mr Nizin Lopez has also worked with the following bands:

Caligula

(Caligula: album cover for “Bukkake Baptism” plus band logo & symbol)

the deicide

deicide

(Deicide: “serpents of the light” artwork plus “when Satan lives” artwork)

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

(Thrash Or Die: album cover for “Poser Holocaust” plus band logo)

Hibernus_Mortis_logo

(band logo for Hibernus Mortis)

Plus the “in cold blood” album cover for Malevolent Creation & the band logo for “Dark Solace”.

THANKING LIST.

Mr Nizin Rafael Lopez would like to thank the following in no particular order:

Deicide (thank you Mr Glen Benton for the opportunity you gave me), Morbid Angel (thank you guys for the opportunity you gave me; very special thanks to Trey [my brother], David, Pete mi hermano, Eric, Steve, & Dieter [Trey, thank you my brother & thanks to Angela for everything]). Genitorturers (thank you Gen & thank you Mr David Vincent for the opportunity you gave me), Mercyful Fate (they need no introduction), King Diamond (the One & only), ManOwaR (the lungs of leather), Death (it was an honor for me to give that painting to Chuck’s mom), Obituary, Ozzy, Cannibal Corpse, Metal Church, Entombed, Bulldozer, Abysmal, Seven Kingdoms, Dismember, Sanctuary, Sodom, Europe, Destruction, Dokken, Angeles del Infierno, Kreator, Scorpions, Dimmu Borgir, Savatage, Judas Priest, Primal Fear, Tierra Santa, Whitesnake, Protector, Gamma Ray, Exodus, Anacrusis, Pantera, Slayer, Suffocation, Henry Rollins, Dream Evil, Overkill, Cyst, Hallow’s Eve, Autopsy, Lost Horizon, Astarte, Guns N Roses, Immolation, Heavenly, Possessed, Bolt Thrower, Alice Cooper, Caligula, Insatanity, Astral Doors, Coroner, Mr Glenn Danzig, Carcass, Tim Owens, Naglfar, Celtic Frost, Nocturnus, Mayhem, Zyklon, Unleashed, Sadus, Napalm Death, Morgoth, Helloween, Annihilator, Megadeth, Hellwitch, Skid Row, Funeral Nation, Metallica, Sepultura, Demilich, Cryptopsy, Hibernus Mortis, Artillery, Bathory, Marduk, Billy Idol, Dark Funeral, Immortal, Broken Hope, Monstrosity, Motley Crue, Angelcorpse, Baron Rojo, Dio, Type O Negative, Sinister, Vader, Deranged, Candlemass, Heathen, Nasty Savage, Tormentor, Fight, Yngwie Malsmsteen, Iron Maiden, Rhapsody, Dark Angel, Forbidden, Old Funeral, Thrash or Die, Wasp, Diabolic, Nevermore, Dissection, Crimson Glory, Trent Reznor, Layne Staley, Ramstein, Dead can Dance,..
Basically I would like to thank all those artists that throughout the years have given me what they have given me.
Nizin would also like to thank Drawing Blood Magazine, Mi World (my dear Occult shop in Hialeah), the two Cuban Art Institutes I attended, Fernando Alessandri of Noni Exhibition Center, Viernes Culturales in Calle Ocho, Mr Gustav Dore, Mr H.R Giger, Mr Dan Seagrave, Mr William Blake, Mr Salvador Dali, Mr Vincent Van Gogh, Mr Howard Phillips Lovecraft, Mr Michael Whelan, Coast to Coast Am, the Hialeah John F. Kennedy Library, & the Miami Public Library System. Thanks to all those who were there for me at some point in one way or another.

nizinlopez.deviantart.com
nizinlopez@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

