PORTRAITS BY MR NIZIN LOPEZ.

PORTRAITS BY MR NIZIN RAFAEL LOPEZ.

My name is Nizin Rafael Lopez, I am a 37 year old Cuban-American artist. I pursued my studies in two Art institutes of Cuba, the first one was called “Olga Alonson Glez” (Santa Clara/Las Villas) & the second one was “Escuela profesional de arte Oscar Fernandez Morera” (Trinidad/Sti Spiritus). I have always been interested in anatomy, especially any work involving portraits. This might sound narrow-minded but it is my belief that any true artist must dominate anatomy. Even an abstract artist should be able to replicate somebody’s face on a piece of paper or on a canvas.

I believe that the cosmos itself is reflected on the human body. Anatomy is therefore a manifestation of divinity. Though I am not “A GREAT” portrait artist, I believe that the work I have done holds some significance (especially to me of course). I have done portraits of different individuals in different periods of time under very different circumstances. Through the study of a countenance one can sort of see the person’s soul and not only that, one can perceive the person’s background as well.

The first thing you see here is the face of Jesus. Yes it is true, nobody has seen Jesus’ face. Some even go as far as saying that he didn’t exist. Yet, I did this portrait as an attempt to embody all the humane qualities depicted in the New Testament. This acrylic on canvas was done sometime in 2011 in Miami Gardens/Fla (it was done in a Tattoo shop).

Jesus Christ. Acrylic on canvas.

Jesus Christ. Acrylic on canvas.

Painting of Jesus Christ.

Painting of Jesus Christ.

The following is a portrait of a family that is very dear to me.

Tejon con la familia.

Tejon con la familia.

(portrait of a Hispanic family in Fla. Acrylic on canvas. This portrait was done in Sarasota/Fla)

R. Ovadia Yosef.

R. Ovadia Yosef.

(portrait of a Sephardic Rabbi done in Caracas/Venezuela 2007)

This is an acrylic on canvas that I did for a very, very special family from Argentina. They are the best of the best and I will always keep them in my heart (no matter what happens).

Retrato.

Retrato.

Ashkenazi Rabbi.

Ashkenazi Rabbi.

(portrait of an Ashkenazi Rabbi, acrylic on canvas. This portrait was done in Caracas/Venezuela. 2007)

This is a very experimental portrait that I did sometime in 2011 while I was working in a Tattoo shop. As one can see, this acrylic on canvas shows the influence that the Tattoo world exrcised on me at some point. I tried to break the “classic” mold by incorporating abstract elements with a Dadaist aroma.

Retrato de colorido.

Retrato de colorido.

This is the detail of a painting that is very dear to me. This acrylic on canvas was done in South Miami/Fla in 2013, it took me a while to do it and it is to some extent “Nizin’s resurrection”. As one can see the woman is greyish like a silvery moon. She represents transcendence, meaning crossing over to a higher dimension.

Detail of the acrylic on canvas painting: "Labyrinths of the mind". Done in Miami/Fla on 06/06/2013.

Detail of the acrylic on canvas painting: “Labyrinths of the mind”. Done in Miami/Fla on 06/06/2013.

This acrylic on canvas was done in Bradenton/Fla. It truly is a portrait of an American family. To Mr Scott: a kind and hard working American who lives for his family.

Portrait of an American family.

Portrait of an American family.

Moroccan Jew.

Moroccan Jew.

(this ink on paper was done in Caracas/Venezuela either in late 2006 or in 2007)

This is a very special painting, definitely one of my best paintings ever. I believe this Acrylic on canvas was done in 2007. For sure it was done in East Hialeah/Fla.

Mujer Bella.

Mujer Bella.

I consider this to be an experimental painting. I basically tried to make it look like a black and white music video plus I intentionally gave it an antique look,…sort of like a “Bodeguita del medio” look. This is an acrylic on canvas of course.

Black & White portrait.

Black & White portrait.

This acrylic on canvas was done in Caracas/Venezuela either in late 2006 or in 2007. I had fun making this painting, the imagery is magical and almost surreal to a certain extent.

Baba Sali praying.

Baba Sali praying.

This is another experimental painting. This acrylic on canvas was done in Caracas/Venezuela either in late 2006 or in 2007.

Pintoresco.

Pintoresco.

This acrylic on canvas was done in Hialeah, Fla. I certainly enjoyed working in the astral looking background in order to create a contrast.

Retrato.

Retrato.

As one can see I have also done Tattoos, meaning that I went beyond painting and drawing. I have done Artwork on human bodies. This Tattoo was done in Miami Beach/Fla sometime in 2012. I have never been a great Tattoo artist but I think it came out pretty good. Tattooing is not only a challenge, it is a responsability in many ways. The Artist knows that mistakes are not allowed since one cannot erase. Also, the customer is placing his trust on the artist. It is rewarding to see that the customer is happy and proud of the work that you have done.

Black & Grey Tattoo.

Black & Grey Tattoo.

Black & Grey Tattoo.

Black & Grey Tattoo.

This Tattoo was done in Miami/Fla sometime in 2012. Black and Grey was probably my favorite thing to do Tattoo wise.

Tattoo. Black & Grey.

Tattoo. Black & Grey.

This is a painting that I ended up donating to an Orthodox Jew of in Brooklyn/New York (acrylic on canvas). The guy didn’t even send me a f*cking e-mail saying “Thank you” (I guess that was too much work, right?)

The Rebbe

The Rebbe

Retrato.

Retrato.

(acrylic on canvas, done in Miami/Fla. 2007)

The Rebbe.

The Rebbe.

(acrylic on canvas, done in East Hialeah/Fla)

The following painting was done in a Miami Gardens Tattoo shop sometime in 2011.

Portrait.

Portrait.

(acrylic on canvas)

Baba Sali.

Baba Sali.

(acrylic on canvas, done in Hialeah/Fla sometime in 2006)

Ink on paper.

Ink on paper.

(ink on paper. Done in Miami/Fla)

Moroccan Jew.

Moroccan Jew.

(acrylic on canvas, done in Caracas/Venezuela sometime in 2007)

Ink on paper.

Ink on paper.

This is an experimental ink on paper that I did while I was living in S.W Miami/Fla.

El Tejon y Niurka.

El Tejon y Niurka.

(acrylic on canvas, done in Bradenton/Fla)

Familia Cubana.

Familia Cubana.

(acrylic on canvas, done in Hialeah/Fla)

This acrylic on canvas was done in Atlanta/Ga sometime in 2002. This painting is a tribute to Chuck Schuldiner of the legendary Death Metal band “Death”. The painting was given to Chuck’s mother in Orlando/Fla.

Acrylic on canvas done in Atlanta/Ga in 2002.

Acrylic on canvas done in Atlanta/Ga in 2002.

(R.I.P in the Name of Metal)

This acrylic on canvas was done in caracas/Venezuela sometime in 2007. This painting was given to a very nice Jewish/Moroccan family who resides in Caracas.

The Rebbe.

The Rebbe.

The following ink on paper is dedicated to the Hungarian Countess Erzebet Bathory, woman of “dark desires. This drawing was made in Miami Gardens/Fla in April 2017.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

Hijo del Trueno.

Hijo del Trueno.

nizinlopez.deviantart.com
nizinlopez@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

